This upcoming week marks the start of the spring 2017 semester. I’ve got a schedule that keeps me on campus from about 9 in the morning to about 5 at night, with no break for an actual lunch. My classes actually start at 11:00AM (I’m going early because of my brother) and I only have 15 minute breaks between classes, which means A) eating one full meal super quickly during those breaks, B) snacking throughout the day, or C) eating during one of my classes. I know for a fact that I cannot go that long without eating something, and I’d rather not eat a full lunch at 10:30 in the morning. I’m leaning towards snacking on stuff throughout the day, just because it’ll keep me fuller longer and I won’t feel the need to binge on anything.

All of this, of course, means trying to find recipes that do not require refrigeration (or at least very little, mostly in an effort to keep the weight of my backpack down), do not require reheating (since getting to a microwave in between classes will be unreliable as far as levels of ease is concerned), and are high protein/easily portable but still low in calories. Because this year I will continue losing weight. (Unlike last year when I mostly ended up gaining.)

I’ve got a collection of some recipes for things like peanut butter banana muffins and skinny buffalo chicken wraps that I’m going to try, but I’m hoping anyone that stumbles across this post might be willing to offer some other recipes/food tips for a college student that wants to eat healthily (but inexpensively).

I’ll probably blog about the recipes I try each week, assuming I stick with this for longer than this upcoming week.

